

COUNCIL OF PRESIDENTS OF MEDICAL COLLEGES

CPMC EDUCATION SUBCOMMITTEE

COMMUNIQUE

The CPMC Education Subcommittee has met twice since it was revised in 2019.

Membership and Terms of Reference were confirmed by the Council Board in August 2019.

- Dr Kym Jenkins, Chair of subcommittee & CPMC Chair-elect (RANZCP past President)
- Dr Nick O'Connor, nominee RANZCP and Clinical Lead, Mental Health Patient Safety Program, NSW CEC;
- Dr Julian Archer, Executive General Manager Education RACS
- Associate Professor Alan Sandford AM President of RACMA (College Presidents nominee)
- Dr Phil Carson Censor-in-Chief, RACS.
- Dr Chris Cokis, ANZCA WA. Chair, ANZCA Education Executive Management Committee.
- Professor John Nicholls, RCPA nominee is a Clinical Professor in Pathology at the University of Hong Kong.
- Andrew Robinson, RANZCP trainee nominee
- Ms Melanie Saba (CEO RACMA) as representing CEOs
- Ms Angela Magarry, Chief Executive Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges.

CPMC website at: <u>https://cpmc.edu.au/about-us/structure/</u> has the membership information and additional past information had also been included from the previous subcommittee.

Approved Workplan reflecting the three objectives of the subcommittee which are to foster the sharing of educational systems and resources between member Colleges; cooperate with other established educational bodies to enhance the UG and PG training and CPD; and develop educational modules of mutual benefit.

- Project 1: Indigenous specialist training
- Project 2: Training Programs
- Project 3: Accreditation of specialist medical training posts

Issues of ongoing interest include the NSW Ministry of Health Roundtable Forum on specialist training and the development of a National Medical Workforce Strategy.

The subcommittee will next meet in February 2020.



CPMC Education Subcommittee Communique October 2019